The Second Edition of the ICCA-Guillermo Aguilar-Alvarez Memorial Prize opens for entries

ICCA is pleased to announce that the second ICCA-Guillermo Aguilar-Alvarez Memorial Prize is now officially open for entries.


ICCA established the ICCA-Guillermo Aguilar-Alvarez Memorial Prize in early 2019 in memory of former ICCA Governing Board Member Guillermo Aguilar-Alvarez, who was an active and beloved member of the arbitration community. The Prize is awarded biennially by ICCA during its Congress to the individual under 40 who has written the best published work on international arbitration, conciliation or other forms of dispute settlement over the previous approximately two years. The inaugural prize was awarded to Professor Julian Arato during the ICCA Congress in September 2022 for his essay entitled ‘The Private Law Critique of International Investment Law’ published in the American Journal of International Law in 2019. See Professor Arato’s acceptance speech here.



The winner of the 2024 Prize will receive an invitation to the ICCA Congress in Hong Kong in May 2024 to accept the Prize. The Prize goes towards the recipient’s costs of attending the ICCA Congress, including: (1) a Congress registration fee waiver; (2) economy class travel to the Congress venue; and (3) hotel accommodation during the Congress. The total monetary value of the Prize is ordinarily no more than USD 5,000.



All entries must be in the form of articles, essays, and individually-authored book chapters published between 1 January 2020 and 31 December 2022. The subject matter must fall within the realm of international arbitration, conciliation or other forms of dispute resolution. Authors must be under the age of 40 years and each author may only submit one entry. All entries must be submitted by 30 June 2023.


Entries must be submitted to the ICCA Bureau via the application form before the deadline. Applicants are kindly requested to provide the following information: name of journal and date of publication; full name; nationality; place of residence; gender; profession and employer; proof of age; and contact details.


Before submitting an entry, please review the Prize’s full terms and conditions, available here and ICCA’s Privacy Policy, available here.



After the final submission date, all entries will be reviewed by a Young ICCA Special Committee. The Young ICCA Special Committee will create a shortlist of 5-10 entries, from which an Advisory Board will select the final winner.


The Advisory Board for the 2024 Prize includes representatives from ICCA, as well as former friends and colleagues of Guillermo Aguilar Alvarez, as follows:

  1. Stefano Azzali;
  2. Lise Bosman;
  3. Donald Donovan;
  4. Aloysius (Louie) Llamzon;
  5. Silvia Marchili; and
  6. Caline Mouawad.


The Young ICCA Special Committee for the 2024 Prize has been constituted as follows:

  1. Courtney Furner;
  2. Shirin Gurdova;
  3. Maanas Jain; and
  4. Sara Koleilat-Aranjo.


Please note: Any entrants who are related to ICCA Foundation, Inc. Board Members, ICCA NGO Governing Board Members, Memorial Prize Advisory Board Members, Young ICCA Co-Chairs, Young ICCA Special Committee and any individual involved in the decision-making process will be excluded from consideration.


For more information, please email or consult the Prize Terms and Conditions.


Apply now