Historic Treasures

These Historic Treasures offer a glimpse into the history of ICCA and international arbitration as a whole. On this page you will find archival materials, historic documents and tributes to the founders of our field and organization. 

ICCA's Journey Over the Years

In 2021 ICCA celebrated its 60th anniversary with a look back at its history. View ICCA's journey over the years through the interactive timeline below. 


Best viewed on a desktop computer for the full experience.

The Pieter Sanders Collection

Prof. Pieter Sanders was a principal drafter of the New York Convention and a co-founder of ICCA. This collection of photos, videos and publications is a tribute to the man who is widely regarded as the founding father of international arbitration. Prof. Sanders passed away on 27 September 2012, one week after his 100th birthday.


“1912-2012. A giant has left us, but in the fullness of time and having set an incomparable example of a life lived to the full, bequeathing profound substantive contributions to the international community, an enduring model of elegance and manners and infectious joy. He might not really have wanted a moment of silence, so let our spirits soar as we remember the happy man and his constant laughter and encouragement.” 

- A tribute to Pieter Sanders by Jan Paulsson

Souvenirs of the Development of International Commercial Arbitration

Historic Documents in Arbitration

ICCA has enlisted the expertise of members to delve into the history of arbitral practice and comment on unusual or historic documents and awards. These commentaries, previously published in the ICCA Newsletter and now available for all, offer little-known insight into the history of our field.

Tributes to Past Presidents

    Gerold Herrmann


    Albert Jan van den Berg


    Past ICCA Presidents

    • Lucy Reed (2020-2023)
    • Gabrielle Kaufmann-Kohler (2018 - 2020)
    • Donald Donovan (2016 - 2018)
    • Albert Jan van den Berg (2014 - 2016)
    • Jan Paulsson (2010 - 2014)
    • Gerold Herrmann (2002 - 2010)
    • Fali Nariman (1994 - 2002)
    • Giorgio Bernini (1986 -1994)
    • Pieter Sanders (1978 - 1986)
    • Jean Robert (1961/1966 - 1978)