ICCA-ASIL Task Force on Damages to Launch Interactive App

The ICCA-ASIL Task Force on Damages will host two webinars to soft launch the interactive web application DIA (Damages in International Arbitration). The webinars, which will take place on 4 November and 17 November, are part of ICCA’s 60th Anniversary webinar series.


In December 2016, ICCA and the American Society of International Law (ASIL) established the ICCA-ASIL Task Force on Damages to address quantification of damages in international arbitration. The Task Force brings together a panel of leading legal and economics experts from jurisdictions across the globe to think creatively about how to promote consistency and rigor in the field’s approach to damages.


The Task Force has developed and produced a publicly-available, interactive web application of practical use for arbitrators and practitioners alike. The web application guides users through the key legal, quantitative, and procedural issues implicated by quantifying damages in international arbitration.

The Task Force will soft launch its web application during the two webinars, scheduled as follows:


  • 4 November, 2021, 9:30am EDT / 2:30pm CET, for the Americas and Europe;
  • 17 November 17 2021, 6:30pm SGT and HKT, for the Middle East and Asia


The 4 November event will be introduced by ICCA President Lucy Reed and moderated by Hilary Heilbron and Mark Kantor, and the 17 November event will be moderated by Sarah Grimmer and Swee Yen Koh. Both events will also feature introductions by the Task Force Co-chairs, Catherine Amirfar and Gabrielle Nater-Bass and demonstrations by Aasiya Glover and Justin Rassi.


The webinars will provide an overview on the mandate of the Task Force and the web application developed by the Task Force, and will include a demonstration of how the web application can be used in practice.


The Task Force members are: Olufunke Adekoya, Catherine Amirfar (Co-chair), Sarah Grimmer, Hilary Heilbron, Mark Kantor, M. Alexis Maniatis, Irmgard Marboe, Gabrielle Nater-Bass (Co-chair), Chudozie Okongwu, Kathleen Paisley, Patrick Pearsall, Adriana San Román Rivera, Guido Santiago Tawil, Thierry J. Senechal, Jennifer Hall Vanderhart, Swee Yen Koh and Karim A. Youssef. The Task Force rapporteurs are Aasiya Glover, Stefanie Pfisterer, Justin R. Rassi, and Christel Tham.


To register for the webinar on 4 Novemberclick here.

To register for the webinar on 17 November, click here.


To read more about ICCA’s 60th Anniversary celebrations, click here.