ICCA announces new Office Holders and Governing Board Members

We are pleased to announce the election of ICCA’s new Vice-President, Audley Sheppard KC, and the appointment of four new Governing Board Members who will take office on 1 April 2023.


Elected to the ICCA Governing Board in 2020, Mr Sheppard carries over 30 years' experience in international arbitration and will replace current ICCA Vice-President and President-Elect Dr Stanimir Alexandrov, who will become ICCA President at the next ICCA Governing Board meeting in early June 2023.


ICCA also welcomes four new Governing Board Members: Julie Bedard (Canada), Stavros Brekoulakis (Greece), Ning Fei (China) and John Ohaga (Kenya). The new Board Members will take office for an initial four-year term, replacing Adriana Braghetta, Ellen Gracie Northfleet, Jianlong Yu and Abdulqawi Yusuf, all of whom have now served two terms on the Board (the maximum permitted under ICCA’s Bylaws). 


Speaking to the new appointments, ICCA President-Elect Dr Alexandrov said "ICCA is delighted to welcome the new Vice-President, Audley Sheppard, and the four new members of the Governing Board. These five prominent arbitration experts will bring a tremendous amount of international arbitration experience and new ideas to the work of ICCA. ICCA is grateful to the outgoing Governing Board members for their commitment and contribution."


"On behalf of ICCA, I congratulate and welcome the new appointees to the Governing Board", adds ICCA President Lucy Reed. "I also thank the outgoing Governing Board Members for their much valued contributions to ICCA and our field of international dispute resolution."


The election process for the ICCA Governing Board begins with nominations by Governing Board Members and the identification of a shortlist by ICCA’s Nominations and Membership Committee. This Committee comprises Meg Kinnear (Chair), Olufunke Adekoya, Stanimir Alexandrov, Abby Cohen Smutny, Judith Gill, Sylvia Noury, Guido Tawil and Lise Bosman (ex officio). The candidates are then recommended to and approved by ICCA’s Executive Body. Thereafter, the candidates are elected by two-thirds majority of the full ICCA Governing Board.


The following current Members have been re-elected to the Governing Board for a second and final four-year term: Catherine Amirfar, Juan Fernández-Armesto, Andrés Jana, Constantine Partasides and Hi-Taek Shin.   


ICCA’s Governing Board will next meet at a joint conference to be hosted by ICCA and the Vancouver International Arbitration Centre (VanIAC) on 2 June 2023. Taking the theme 'Energy Infrastructure Disputes and Arbitration: Today and Tomorrow', the joint conference will bring the international arbitration community together in Vancouver, British Columbia. To register for the ICCA-VanIAC conference, visit: https://vaniac.org/events/icca-vaniac-conference-2-june-2023.