Return to ICCA Projects page >>

patrons of the prize

  • Andrea, Patricio and Claudio Aguilar-Alvarez
  • Harry & Helena Burnett
  • Kenneth Fleuriet 
  • Edward Kehoe
  • Silvia Marchili
  • Caline Mouawad
  • Michael Reisman & Mahnoush Arsanjani
  • King & Spalding 
  • Eric Schwartz 
  • Eduardo Siqueiros
  • Kiyoshi Tsuru
  • John Savage
  • Reginald Smith
  • Richard Marooney

Advisory Board

Stefano Azzali
Lise Bosman
Donald Donovan
Aloysius (Louie) Llamzon
Carlos Davalos
Loretta Malintoppi
Michael Reisman

Young ICCA Special Committee (2020 Prize)

Eloïse Glucksmann
Alexander Leventhal
Katharine Menendez de la Cuesta Llamas
Michele Potestà
Giorgio Sassine

ICCA Guillermo Aguilar-Alvarez Memorial Prize

In memory of former ICCA Governing Board Member Guillermo Aguilar-Alvarez, whose untimely passing in July 2017 saddened friends and colleagues worldwide, ICCA has launched the ICCA-Guillermo Aguilar-Alvarez Memorial Prize. The Prize will be awarded biennially by ICCA during its Congress to the individual under 40 who has written the best published work on international arbitration, conciliation or other forms of dispute settlement over the past two years.

About the Prize

The prize will include a modest honorarium and funding to attend the ICCA Congress (including a fee waiver, economy class travel and hotel accommodation) in order to receive the Prize in person and to benefit from interaction with ICCA Members and participation in Congress sessions. Entries for the first Prize are now closed. The first recipient of the Prize will receive funding to attend the ICCA Congress in Edinburgh on 1-4 February 2021.

Submission guidelines available here

Make a contribution to the Fund

As a supporter of the ICCA-Guillermo Aguilar-Alvarez Memorial Prize, you can opt to make (1) a once-off donation; or (2) a regular donation over a period of time (daily, weekly, monthly or yearly).

Pledges to the Prize have already reached US$60,000, with a further US$60,000 targeted to help the Prize exist in perpetuity.  While any amount is welcome, we encourage those who knew Guillermo and are looking for a more long-lasting way to honour his legacy to become a Patron of the Prize. Donors will be recognized as Patrons by ICCA (and associated with the Prize accordingly) when they commit to donate at least US$5,000, either once-off, or in a series of regular donations, e.g., a US$100 monthly commitment over 5 years. 

If you would like to become a patron of the Prize, please contact the ICCA Bureau ( 

Click here to donate now. 

Premio Guillermo Aguilar Álvarez

The Arbitration Center of Mexico (CAM) has also established a prize in memory of Guillermo. This prize will be awarded to works published in Spanish. For more information, please visit: