ICCA Guillermo Aguilar-Alvarez Memorial Prize

Guillermo Aguilar-Alvarez


In memory of former ICCA Governing Board Member Guillermo Aguilar-Alvarez, whose untimely passing in July 2017 saddened friends and colleagues worldwide, ICCA has launched the ICCA-Guillermo Aguilar-Alvarez Memorial Prize. The Prize will be awarded biennially by ICCA during its Congress to the individual under 40 who has written the best published work on international arbitration, conciliation or other forms of dispute settlement over the past two years.


About the Prize

The prize will include a modest honorarium and funding to attend the ICCA Congress (including a fee waiver, economy class travel and hotel accommodation) in order to receive the Prize in person and to benefit from interaction with ICCA Members and participation in Congress sessions. Entries for the first Prize are now closed. The first recipient of the Prize will receive funding to attend the ICCA Congress in Edinburgh on 18 - 21 September 2022.

Patrons of the Prize

  • Andrea, Patricio and Claudio Aguilar-Alvarez
  • Harry & Helena Burnett
  • Kenneth Fleuriet 
  • Edward Kehoe
  • Silvia Marchili
  • Caline Mouawad
  • Michael Reisman & Mahnoush Arsanjani
  • King & Spalding 
  • Eric Schwartz 
  • Eduardo Siqueiros
  • Kiyoshi Tsuru
  • John Savage
  • Reginald Smith
  • Richard Marooney

Premio Guillermo Aguilar Alvarez

The Arbitration Center of Mexico (CAM) has also established a prize in memory of Guillermo. This prize will be awarded to works published in Spanish. For more information, please visit: https://camex.com.mx/premio-guillermo-aguilar-alvarez/