ICCA Announces New Vice-President and Governing Board Members

We are pleased to announce the election of ICCA’s new Vice-President, Judith Gill QC, and the appointment of six new Governing Board Members who will take office on 1 April 2020.


Ms. Gill will replace current ICCA Vice-President and President-elect Professor Lucy Reed. Having been a partner at global law girl Allen & Overy for over 25 years and serving 11 years as Head of the International Arbitration Group, Ms. Gill now practises exclusively as an arbitrator and is recognised as one of the leading practitioners in the field of international arbitration.


Asked about her election, Ms. Gill said, “It is a privilege and an honour to take on the role of Vice-President. International arbitration has developed at an extraordinary pace and will continue to do so in my view. Against that background, it is hugely important for ICCA to seek to harness the enormous energy and enthusiasm of practitioners, academics and users around the world to promote best practices and explore new challenges and developments. I look forward very much to being part of that effort and to working with the incoming President Lucy Reed and the rest of the team.”


ICCA has also elected six new Governing Board Members: Mohamed Abdel Wahab (Cairo), Domitille Baizeau (Geneva), Toby Landau (London and Singapore), Fernando Mantilla-Serrano (Paris), Sylvia Noury (London) and Audley Sheppard (London), who will replace Teresa Cheng, Gabrielle Kaufmann-Kohler, Michael Pryles, Klaus Reichert, Sundaresh Menon and Dominique Hascher, all of whom are retiring from the Governing Board under ICCA’s 2013 Transition Plan or have now served two terms. The new members will take office for an initial four-year term.


Speaking to the new appointments, ICCA President Gabrielle Kaufmann-Kohler notes: “ICCA is thrilled to welcome these six prominent arbitration experts to the Governing Board. I am confident that they will contribute their expertise to the debates within ICCA’s Board and innovative ideas to ICCA’s various projects and task forces.”


The election process for the ICCA Governing Board begins with nominations by Governing Board Members and the identification of a shortlist by ICCA’s Nomination and Membership committee. This Committee comprises Meg Kinnear (Chair), Stanimir Alexandrov, Makhdoom Ali Khan, Loretta Malintoppi, Guido Tawil and Lise Bosman (ex officio). The candidates are then recommended to and approved by ICCA’s Executive Body. Thereafter, the candidates are elected by two-thirds majority of the full ICCA Governing Board.


The following Members have been re-elected to the Governing Board for a second and final term: Stanimir Alexandrov, Jean Kalicki, Michelle MacPhee, Michael Moser and Klaus Sachs.


The new Governing Board Members will join the Governing Board for their 2020 annual meeting at ICCA’s 25th biennial Congress in Edinburgh, Scotland this May. Entitled ‘Arbitration’s Age of Enlightenment?’ ICCA 2020 Edinburgh will provide leading arbitration practitioners and academics with three days of stimulating discussion on arbitration’s growth and success as a major form of international dispute resolution. To register for ICCA 2020 Edinburgh, please visit: https://icca2020.scot/register/.