Call for Expressions of Interest: ICCA Sydney 2018 New Voices Panel

ICCA and Young ICCA are pleased to announce that the upcoming 24th ICCA Congress in Sydney, Australia will include a ‘New Voices’ panel.

This panel will feature provocative presentations by young scholars and practitioners on topics of fresh interest or involving emerging jurisdictions. Panelists will be selected to showcase the energy and talent of the next generation of arbitration leaders. 

ICCA and Young ICCA are now initiating a call for proposals which will serve as the selection process for New Voices panelists at the ICCA Congress. Selected panelists will be required to contribute final papers of 5,000 to 10,000 words to the ICCA Congress Series publication. We encourage authors to consider a broad variety of topics related to the overall theme of the Congress (namely, “Evolution and Adaptation: The Future of International Arbitration”).

All proposals must be submitted by 28 July 2017 via email entitled “ICCA Sydney 2018: New Voices proposal” to The abstract proposals must be provided in a word document not exceeding 500 to 800 words, accompanied by a cover email indicating the author’s nationality/nationalities, age (applicants must be under 40 years old), affiliation, qualifications, and whether the abstract proposal has been either submitted and/or accepted for publication elsewhere. Each proposal will be reviewed by at least two members of the Review Committee (identified below).

The selection results will be announced by early September 2017. Panelists selected must be prepared to circulate an advanced draft of their paper no later than 29 January 2018.
While New Voices panelists are expected to bear their own travel expenses, they will receive a full waiver of the Congress fee.

Enquiries should be addressed to

New Voices Panel Review Committee
Ms Jean Kalicki (ICCA Programme Committee Co-Chair)
Dr Mohamed Abdel Raouf (ICCA Programme Committee Co-Chair)
Ms Chiann Bao (ICCA Programme Committee)
Mr Gardar Gunnarsson (Young ICCA Co-Chair)
Ms Ndanga Kamau (ICCA Programme Committee)
Ms Ina Popova (ICCA Programme Committee)
Prof Dr Stephan Schill (ICCA Programme Committee)
Mr Monty Taylor (ICCA Programme Committee)
Ms Sylvia Tonova (Young ICCA Co-Chair)
Ms Nhu-Hoang Tran Thang (Young ICCA Co-Chair)