ICCA welcomes five new Governing Board Members

Five new ICCA Governing Board Members will take office on 1 April 2018: John Beechey (Hong Kong and London), Doak Bishop (Houston, Texas), Cavinder Bull (Singapore), Carole Malinvaud (Paris) and Yoshimi Ohara (Tokyo). The five new members will take office for an initial four-year term that can be extended for a further four-year term.


The ICCA Executive Body, which currently comprises Donald Donovan (President), Gabrielle Kaufmann-Kohler (President-Elect, due to take office during the ICCA Congress), Meg Kinnear (Vice-President), Olufunke Adekoya (Vice-President) and Michael Pryles (Treasurer), welcomed the new board members, noting “All five candidates are prominent practitioners, and several represent profiles and geographic regions currently under-represented on the Governing Board, also taking gender into account”.


The new members will replace five outgoing Governing Board Members: Guillermo Aguilar Alvarez, Donald Donovan, Michael Hwang, Bill Slate and Pierre Tercier. Each has rendered long and valuable service to ICCA, and each will be invited to join ICCA’s Advisory Board, with the exception of Guillermo Aguilar-Alvarez who passed away in July 2017.


ICCA will also welcome a new Vice-President, Lucy Reed. Ms. Reed takes over from current Vice-President Meg Kinnear, whose two-year term comes to end on 1 April 2018. Said Ms. Reed of her appointment to the role of Vice-President: “It is an honor and a privilege to be elected a Vice-President of ICCA.  It remains the pre-eminent professional organization for international arbitration counsel, arbitrators and educators, and much important work remains to be done in our field.  A bit daunting, though, to try to fill Meg Kinnear’s shoes!”


To view the profiles of all ICCA Governing Board Members and Advisory Board Members, click here.