2014-2015 Young ICCA Co-Chairs 

Kate Brown de Vejar
Curtis, Mallet-Prevost, Colt & Mosle LLP
Mexico City, Mexico

Maria Lokajova
Squire Sanders
Prague, Czech Republic 

James E. Morrison
Allens Arthur Robinson

Young ICCA Co-Chair Election

Young ICCA Opens Nomination Process for Two New Co-Chairs

Young ICCA will soon launch elections to replace its current co-chairs Maria Lokajova and Jim Morrison, whose two-year terms come to an end this December.  To that effect, Young ICCA is now accepting expressions of interest from potential co-chair candidates.  Expressions of interest will be accepted throughout the month of October 2014.

Young ICCA co-chairs are elected in a unique two-stage process which ensures a balance of merit-based succession, geographic and institutional diversity and democratic legitimacy.  Gender diversity is maintained by the election mechanism which requires that each leaving male co-chair be substituted by a female co-chair and vice-versa.

During the first stage, the current leadership of Young ICCA will select two female and two male candidates from among the potential candidates who have submitted an expression of interest.  The selection criteria include the candidates’ previous involvement in Young ICCA or similar organizations, their demonstrable appreciation of the organization’s aims of opening doors and promoting diversity in international arbitration,  their capacity to dedicate the time and resources necessary to fulfill the day-to-day demands of the position, as well as considerations of geographic and institutional diversity.  During the second stage, the selected two female and two male candidates will then compete for the corresponding co-chair position in open elections, in which the Young ICCA membership is invited to participate.  The elections are scheduled for November 2014 and will require each candidate to present his/her personal profile by filling in a so-called “Proust questionnaire” which will be circulated electronically to the Young ICCA membership for its consideration (and entertainment!) 

Expressions of interest from potential candidates should be submitted by e-mail to the current co-chairs at kbrown@curtis.com; maria.lokajova@squirepb.com and james.Morrison@allens.com.au.  Applicants should include a short letter of motivation not exceeding 500 words addressing the selection criteria outlined above.   Expressions of interest received after October 31, 2014 will not be considered. The decision of the co-chairs as to the selection of the candidates is final.